AAUW 2017 scholarship awarded

Barbara Stewart

The Southeast Valley Branch of the American Association of University Women is proud to award the 2017 Joyce M. Pocras Memorial Scholarship to Lynette Taleno, a graduating senior from Basha High School in Chandler Unified School District. Lynette plans to attend Chandler-Gilbert Community College in the fall and study Psychology/Computers. Lynette participates in many extra-curricular activities and exhibits good leadership qualities. In addition, she has a 3.5 GPA and is a member of the AVID Club (Advancement Via Individual Determination).

In 2010, Southeast Valley Branch of AAUW, Sun Lakes, elected to establish and began funding a local scholarship for senior girls attending CUSD High Schools. Criteria includes a minimum 2.5 GPA, participation in extra-curricular activities, attendance at an in-state an community college or university, community service, leadership qualities and financial need.

Since 1881, the American Association of University Women (AAUW) has advanced equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy and research. AAUW has a nationwide network of more than 100,000 members and donors, 1,000 branches and 600 college/university institutional partners. AAUW is one of the world’s largest sources of funding for graduate women. The AAUW invites all who hold an associate or higher degree from an accredited college or university to join.

For further information on this program or membership, go to http://southeastvalley-az.aauw.net.