Club champion for PVLGA crowned

Liz DeMichael, Publicity

Not everyone was focusing on basketball in March. It was a month for golf too. Some of the members of the Palo Verde Ladies Golf Association (PVLGA) wouldn’t call the golf tournaments they played in a “slam dunk” though.

3/06. Eclectic. Round two of the Eclectic golf match was played this month. The AM/PM winners were Flight #1: Mary Nelson and Nancy Rainville (tied – 68) and Carole Guild (69); Flight #2: Jane Lewis (71), Sandy Eeds (72), Sherri Butler, Jan Nelson and Vallerie Verbeck (tied – 74); Flight #3: Elaine Isaacson (76), Cathy Brabant, Jan Gabriel, Susan Lamb and Zara Logan (tied – 78); Flight #4: Marilyn Lloyd (78), Wanda Wiggins (81), Marsha Deuel and June Park (tied – 82); Flight #5: Pat Schultz (82), Karen Heitman and Bonnie Kane (tied – 83).

3/13 and 3/20. Club Championship. The 2018 PVLGA Club Championship was won by Penny Nowicki with a two-round score of 150 (76/74). Congratulations, Penny! Other players also fought hard, and winners included Flight #1: In a sudden death playoff, Colleen Mitchell beat Kathryn Campbell (152 each). Patti Hegenbarth, Nancy Howell and Mary Nelson tied for third (153); Flight #2: Pat Tjosvold (156), Julie Curran (157) and Mary Horn (159); Flight #3: Christine Lecourtre (172), Cathy Brabant (173) and Karen Bailey (175); Flight #4: Kathy Jones (181), Wanda Wiggins (182) and Paula Elbery (184).

3/27. Member- Guest Tournament. It was a jungle out there with lions and tigers and bears. Oh my! The four-member teams fought their way through the hazards laid out everywhere in a modified “step-a-side” scramble. The team winners were Flight #1: Terry Gaube, Kay Kolb, Brenda Collette and Jeannette Chenier (43); Sandy Chavez, Stephanie Higgins, Mary Horn and Carol Schmidt (45.25); Kathryn Campbell, Kathy Moore, Denise Devereaux and Mikki Rydell (46); Flight #2: Bonnie Kane, Karen Fager, Jan Nelson and B.J. Schuller (41.5); Nancy Gehlbach, Rachelle Wilson, Liz DeMichael and Angie Navarrette (42.25); Jo Crook, Karen Welker, Diane Kruse and Helen Jueb (43.5); Flight # 3: Anita Barber, Elizabeth Klein, Gwen Curtis and Mary Ann Sorenson (40.25); Carolyn Tagatz, Marty Wheeldon, Linda Parfitt and Diane Roberts (41.5); Susan Lamb, Pattie Seiberling, Florence Wright and Virginia Diers (43); Flight #4: In a playoff, Julie Lutostanski, Julie Schneider, Judy Hester and Brenda Streit placed first (40.75), followed by Jo Ann Hicks, Nancy Pannabecker, Judy Dingeldine and Jean Nelson (40.75); Karen Bailey, Dixie McQuaid, Delores Czaja and June Orr placed third (41).

Closest to the “congo line” was won by Nancy Gehlbach (#17). Mary Nelson won the longest drive (#10). Jan Nelson won the closest to the pin on #16. Karen Fager got a hole-in-one on #14. Congratulations, ladies!

A special thanks to Janet Proctor, Kay Kolb, Brenda Collette and everyone else who worked so hard to provide us with an event that will be remembered for years!