Coming Soon! 2014 Crystal Awards

2014 Crystal Awards Dinner at Cottonwood Country Club

2014 Crystal Awards Dinner at Cottonwood Country Club

Twas the year 2009 when ideas bloomed in Sun Lakes with regard to recognition, thanks of appreciation, and honors for outstanding residents known for their volunteerism within the Sun Lakes Community areas. Meetings took place in the Splash office including Harvey Boyd of Western Broadband; Linda Robson, Robson Publishing; Stan Scott , Sun Lakes Charities; Dee Rasmussen, Sun Lakes Rotary Club and the managers of IronOaks, Randy Ankyny; Cottonwood/PaloVerde, Steve Nolan; SunBird, Layne Varney and Sun Lakes Country Club, Clint Warrell to initiate plans for such an honor. Thus, the Crystal Awards annual dinner evolved.

Since the inception on the Crystal Awards, each year Sun Lakes residents are asked to take time to make note of the outstanding volunteerism of our residents for the betterment of our community. You all know a special person or persons whose service significantly impacts our quality of life. Let’s honor them and let them know how valuable they are to each and every one of us.


Nomination forms and Review Guidelines including selection requirements are available at each Home Owners office.

The deadline to submit your entry is November 30. Nomination forms are to be submitted to Crystal Awards P.O. Box 12102, Chandler, AZ. 85248.

On March 1, 2015 at the Oakwood Country Club, a fabulous dinner will honor the winning nominees with a presentation of their Crystal Award. Tickets may be purchased at any of the Homeowner offices.

For additional information, please call Bill Hoyt at 895-0315

Awarded to those who make difference

in our Sun Lakes Community…


2010 was the first Crystal Awards Dinner, held at PaloVerde Country Club and honored that year were Bill Hook, Frank Nechvatal, Ray White, George Spencer, Sandy Applegate, Al Cary, Shirley Greber, Jesse Gersten, Dwight Grotewold, Betty Manovsky, Hal Wochholz, Arthur Sloane, Chuck Reinhart and Donald Kalscheur.


The 2011 Crystal Awards Dinner was held at SunBird Country Club and honored were Leo Buries, Chuck Warren, Harvey Boyd, Sharon Horton, Bob Rossow, Grace Goldstein Roth, Stan Scott and Milton Smith.


The 2012 Crystal Awards Dinner was held at Oakwood Country Club. Honored were Carolyn Barrans, Paul Budrick, William Hoyt, Nancy Pannebecker, Dee Rasmussen, Robert Sisk, Helen Scott, Linda Shanahan, Chuck Sloan and Viv Sloane.


The 2013 Crystal Awards Dinner was held at the Sun Lakes Country Club and honored were Shirley Abbott, Jonella Birlin, Sam Firstein, Rich Featherstone, Frank Van Overstratten, Nancy Sheridan, and Donna Quinn.


The 2014 Crystal Awards Dinner was held at the Cottonwood Country Club and honored were Joyce Davey, Robert Deken, John Dobson, Eva Gunnoe, Janet Mills, Pat Rappuhn, and Jean Tolar.