Niners February golf results

Jim Wegman, Niners Publicity

The results of the 2018 Niners Club Championship are in, and the first-place winners are the following A Flight Jim LaBarge, B Flight Larry Burke and C Flight Renny Vowell. Congratulations to the winners and thanks to all the participants. Additional results are posted on the league website and on our bulletin board in the Pro Shop league room. Winners will be recognized at the Annual Meeting/Awards Luncheon on March 29, 2018.

Winners: 02/01/18 Fewest Putts Palms. Flight A: 1st Lloyd Schaeffer, 2nd Jim LaBarge, 3rd Erich Tiepel, 4th Bob Pender, 5th Bill Stoutenberg, 6th (3-way tie) Ed Allen, Bill Pender, Jerry Richards, 9th Mel Moore; Flight B: 1st Jim Broich, 2nd (4-way tie) Nick Angele, Jim Wegman, Mike Osborn, Bill Slattery, 6th (tie) Jordy Primack and Bill Whitely, 8th Lynn Thompson; Flight C: 1st Mike Stewart, 2nd Richard Funk, 3rd (3-way tie) Tom Thibodeau, Murray Luther, Jim Deleo, 6th (tie) Jim Janowski and Greg Sutton, 8th Gary Nessel. Closest-to-the-Pin Honors: No. 4 Lloyd Schaeffer, No. 7 Bill Pender

02/08 Best Balls Par 3-4-5 Sonoran. 1st (tie) Lloyd Schaeffer, Paul Bobko, Don Lewis, Jordon Primack and Lee Boudreaux, Bill Lacey, Gary Nessel, Greg Sutton, 3rd (tie) Mike Osborn, Eric Tiepel, Bill Slattery, Mike Stegina and Ron Rudzinski, Jim Mendenhall, Peter Gerdik, Charlie Hughs, 5th Jerry Vickery, Nick Angele, Roger Rusche, Carl Schell, 6th Ed Allen, Bruce Henderson, Larry Johnson, 7th (tie) Jerry Richards, Dick Negaard, Bob Melhuish, Richard Funk and Larry Burke, Bob Pender, Carl Burnham Jr., Jim Theobald. Closest-to-the Pin Honors: No. 3 Larry Johnson, No. 8 Bill Whitely

02/15 The league play was canceled due to inclement weather, poor course conditions and an unusually high number of cancellations. We started with around 47 golfers and ended with seven hardy souls going out to play cart path only in the rain.

02/22 Best Balls One Gross One Net. 1st Bill Pender, Tom Bleier, Peter Gerdik, 2nd Ron Betti, Bob Hiller, Dave Peters, Bob Deken, 3rd (tie) Jim LaBarge, Lynn Thompson, John Gaudioso, Jim Theobald and Dick Negaard, Jim Broich, Jim Wegman, 5th (5-way tie) Nick Angele, Charlie Hughes, Bob Melhuish, Bill Slattery, Bill Stoutenberg, Jack Cook, Mike Stewart and Lloyd Schaeffer, Dennis Clark, Jim Janowski and Eric Tiepel, Norm Noble, Gary Nessel, Carl Schell and Pat O’Connell, Mike Stegina, Renny Vowell, Bill Lacey. Closest-to-the-Pin Honors: No. 4 Mike Stewart, No. 7 Bill Pender

Annual Meeting/Awards Luncheon: The Annual Meeting/Awards Luncheon will be held on March 29, 2018, at the Oakwood Clubhouse Ballroom. The meeting will begin at 11:00 a.m., and lunch will be ready at noon. The last sign-up date for the event is March 21, 2018. If you plan to play on March 29 and attend the luncheon, you must sign up for both events.

Dues 2018-2019: Dues must be paid prior to April 1, 2018. Members who are not current with their dues by April 1, 2018, will not be paired for play. Thanks for your attention to this deadline.