Niners January 2015 results

Welcome to the New Year. The new golf clubs are still shiny and hold the promise of many pars and a few birdies this year. So, let’s tee it up and play ready golf in 2015.

The Niners 2014 Championship Tournament was played on January 8 and 15. The playing conditions were chilly and breezy, but the winners took it all in stride. In the “A” “Championship Flight” the competition was tough and the results were close. The Niners 2015 Club Champion is Jim Poland (81) followed by Jerry Vickery (83) and Dennis Fisher (85). In the “B” Flight it was 1st Ed Allen (88), 2nd Bill Slattery (90), 3rd Jack Cook and Ron Rudzinski (tie) (91). In Flight “C” we find 1st Gordon Graham (100), 2nd Paul Blatnicky and Tom Thibodeau (tie) (102) and 3rd Bill Johnson (105). Congratulations to all the winners.


1/08. Low Gross – Palms: Flight A: Jim Poland, Jerry Vickery and Dennis Fisher; Flight B: Bill Slattery, Ed Allen and Jack Cook; Flight C: (tie) Paul Blatnicky, Gordon Graham, Joe Sigillo and Dennis Clark; Sinkers: Dean Crocker and Mike Stewart; Closest-to-the-Pin Honors: No. 4 Mike Stegina and No. 7 Jerry Vickery.

1/15. Low Gross – Sonoran: Flight A: Jerry Richards, Jerry Vickery and Jim Poland; Flight B: Bill Stoutenberg, Ron Rudzinski and Ed Allen; Flight C: Greg Sutton, Bill Becker and Gordon Graham; Sinkers: Dean Crocker and Don Zimmer; Closest-to-the-Pin Honors: No. 3 Gary Breitbach and No. 8 Larry Johnson

1/22. Skins – Lakes: Team 1 Mike Stegina, Team 2 John Walker, Team 3 Ron Betti, Team 4 Gary Breitbach, Team 5 Doug Baker, Team 6 Larry Johnson, Team 7 Bill Whitely, Team 8 Jim Poland, Team 9 Dennis Clark, Team 10 David Mork; Closest-to-the Pin Honors: No. 2 Larry Johnson, No. 6 Doug Baker

1/29. Fewest Putts – Palms: Flight A: Eddie Allen, Nick Angele, Mike Osborn and Ron Betti; Flight B: Rich Funk, David Mork, Jerry Meer and Dennis Clark; Sinkers: Dean Crocker and Mike Stewart; Closest-to-the-Pin Honors: No. 4 Ron Rudzinski and No. 7 David Peters

2015 Ringers Tournament: This year’s Ringers Tournament will take place on three Thursdays, February 26, March 05 and March 12. See Bill Slattery or Jim Wegman to reserve your place in the tournament. The buy-in is $20 and must be paid prior to February 26, the first day of the tournament. Check the league web site for further details, or read the flyer on our bulletin board.

Golf Day with the Hamilton High School Boy’s Golf Team: Thanks to Game Manager David Mork for arranging a golf outing with the Hamilton Huskies Boy’s Golf Team on March 12. The details were sent out in a league Golf Blast on February 1. For more details contact David Mork. This is a first for our league, so let’s support the Hamilton High Boy’s Golf Team by signing up and maybe you will get to play golf with a future champion.

Annual Awards Luncheon: The annual Awards luncheon will take place on Tuesday, March 24 at the Oakwood Clubhouse. Sign up now.