Niners November Golf Results

Jim Wegman, Publicity

As we approach year’s end, the board members of the Niners, committee members, and game managers extend season’s greetings to all our members and their families. May 2020 bring us good health, happiness, wonderful memories, and great golf experiences.

Hey, we have two new members: Waldo Downey, sponsored by David Mork; and Larry Weaver, sponsored by Larry Schuller. Welcome, Waldo and Larry, and thanks, David and Larry.

Increased membership is always a good thing. It says that our league is well thought of and members are happy to sponsor friends to join us. But there comes a time when our success exceeds our ability to accept more members. We have reached that point. Membership in the Niners has risen to an incredible 107 active golfers. As we can only field 84 golfers each week, 72 in the a.m. shotgun and 12 in the afternoon, the league must sadly freeze our membership immediately. We will no longer be accepting applications.

It is my sad duty to report the passing of Rudy Vraspir. Rudy was a longtime Niner, board member, and president of our league. Rudy was a tireless worker for our league and stayed connected to us by creating the Award Certificates each year. We offer our deepest condolences to the Vraspir family.

Winners 11/7/19 Scramble Lakes. 1st Lee Boudreaux, John Britz, James Coughlin, Jim Deleo; 2nd (tie) Charlie Hughes, Mike Osborn, Carl Burnham Jr., Jim Wegman and Jonathan Russell, Jim Lankford, Tom Bleier, Peter Gerdik; 4th (tie) Gene Cole, Russ Shurts, Bill Slattery, Larry Swanson and Larry Johnson, Lynn Thompson, Lou Blas; 6th (tie) Bill Pender, Dennis Clark, Mike Stewart, Gordon Graham and Mark Neilson, Jim Mendenhall, Nick Angele, Len Dolins. Closest-to-the-Pin Honors No. 2 Larry Burke, No. 6 Jim Theobald

11/14/19 Schramble Palms. 1st (tie 3) Jim LaBarge, Gene Cole, Gary Nessel, Roger Rusche; Jim Johnson, Bob Ludwig, Lynn Thompson, Mike Stewart; and Bob Pender, Dave Mork, Pete Stein; 4th Virg Einck, Lou Blas, Larry Hanken, Terrill Simmons; 5th (tie 4) Bruce McCorkle, Larry Burke, Bill Slattery, Bill Bartoo; Ed Anderson, Jim Daleo, Tom Bleier, John Gaudioso; Jim Campbell, Mark Moberg, Ed Werner, Gordon Graham; and Don Lewis, Mark Neilson, Bill Whitely, Jerry Vickery. Closest-to-the-Pin Honors: No. 4 Jim Campbell, No. 7 Gary Nessel

11/21/19 The Step-Aside Scramble on the Sonoran Course was cancelled due to adverse weather and course conditions.

There was no organized play for the Niners on Nov. 28, 2019, Thanksgiving Day.

The annual Membership Meeting and Awards Luncheon took place on Dec. 19 at the Oakwood clubhouse immediately after morning golf.