Oakwood Couples 9 hole league wraps up season

Chandler High School girls’ team was presented with funds to help support the upcoming

Chandler High School girls’ team was presented with funds to help support the upcoming

The Oakwood Couple Nine Hole Golf League wrapped up the 2015-2016 year with the annual picnic golf event on May 6. Hot dogs, hamburgers, baked beans and ice cream were enjoyed by all for the morning event. President Lou Giallonardo had to revise his normally corny jokes to fit the morning hour which did not have the normal consumption of adult beverages. All attendees had a great time to end an eventful year of fun, fellowship, good food and drink and, by the way, golf.

Clearly, the group lived up to its motto with some concentrating on fun, some on fellowship, some enjoyed the good food and drink and as important, some played golf for the first time and survived!

The highlight of the year was the presentation of over $500 to the Chandler High School girls golf team. The girls appreciated the funds that will support their efforts in the coming year. It was probably the first time that these young girls spent time with us “older folks” but they survived the teasing by our president in one on one interviews. Attending along with the girls were Coach Kyle Darr and Athletic Director Jim Culver. In addition, Julie Fenn and Suzy O’Hara from the Arizona Womens Golf Association who were instrumental in arranging the relationship with the Chandler High School girls golf team also were in attendance.

The AWGA also worked closely with Vice President John Gaudioso and Secretary/Treasurer Lloyd Schaffer to develop our computerized handicapping and pairing system which worked wonderfully throughout the year.

The league nearly tripled in size this year largely due to the willingness of the group to make golf fun and social. In addition, important issues were addressed throughout the year with changes to the by-laws, fee restructuring and the required use of a GHIN number for handicap purposes.

Officers for next year will be Co-Presidents Linda Breitbach and Sandy Krediet and Gary Breitbach and Ross Serold will share the treasurer and secretary roles.