Oakwood Lady Niners welcome new executive

Pictured (left to right) 2016 OLNGA Treasurer Rachel Enloe, Secretary Julia Collier, Vice President Margaret Johns and President Barbara Stewart

Pictured (left to right) 2016 OLNGA Treasurer Rachel Enloe, Secretary Julia Collier, Vice President Margaret Johns and President Barbara Stewart

Ann Rounthwaite

The ranks of the Oakwood Lady Niners Golf Association have swelled this fall with several new members joining us to play nine holes on Tuesday mornings in a friendly, supportive environment, and to socialize at casual lunches or organized luncheons afterwards. While some Lady Niners play just for fun, others compete to represent the club in the State Medallion tournament or for club championships. The league does a great job of providing opportunities for golfers of all levels to enjoy the game and the camaraderie. If you’d like to join call Margaret Johns at 480-588-1807 for information.

The Lady Niners had their first opportunity to try out the renovated Lakes course on November 17. Winners in a low net game were Flight 1: 1st Joyce Parker and Sharon Johnson first, 2nd Kathy Chebuhar and Helen Semple, 3rd Pat Stead; Flight 2: 1st Debra Burns 2nd Regina Wegman and Susie Cook, 3rd Sheila Bossio; Flight 3: 1st Barbara Stewart and Sharon Gale, 2nd Colleen Duke, 3rd Margaret Johns, Susan Meer and Edna Joss third

On November 24 the duffers among us and those with bad luck were given a chance to win Pro Shop credits. In a game on the Palms course winners were those with the highest score on five holes selected after the game. I will exercise my editorial discretion by omitting the names of the seven winners – out of respect for their feelings and because I was among them!

On December 1 the game on the Sonoran challenged golfers to predict their scores before playing. Kathy Chebuhar, Denise Fleshner, Phyllis Madison, Pat Stead and Kay Blas are consistent enough, skilled enough, or both, to guess their scores exactly. Joyce Parker, Susie Cook, Marcy Griffith and Deb Burns came within one stroke, and Nancy Heberling, Sharon Johnson, Patty Partridge, Reggie Wegman, J.C. Garceau, Sheila Bossio, Barbara Stewart, Colleen Duke and Mary Swanson came within two.

Santa came early on December 8. Everyone who played in a scramble on the Sonoran won credits. At the AGM and holiday luncheon afterwards, the new executive board was inducted. Susan Meer was awarded a birdie pin and Julie Schneider, Joyce Parker and Kathy Chebuhar received certificates for repeat birdies. Members enthusiastically thanked outgoing President Julie Schneider for her cheerful leadership. Handsome nutcrackers decorated the tables and became gifts for each attendee. The Sun Lakes Community Theater entertained after lunch.

Upcoming events:

There’s a board meeting January 11 at 9:00 a.m. in the Oakwood Clubhouse Library. The New Year’s luncheon will be on January 12 with the sign-up deadline Friday, January 8.

The game on January 27 will be the first of four where scores are eligible for the State Medallion. Scores from the best two of four designated games will be used for the State Medallion, so if you miss one or two of the designated games you can still be a contender. The January 27 game will also count for the Jo Williams Low Net Championship. To get in on all this fun, join the OLNGA.