Dang Teater, 2023 OLGA Club Champion

Kathy Burns

Congratulations to Dang Teater who won the OLGA Club Championship on Feb. 21. It concluded a three-week competition that was endured by many faithful golfers who played in rain on the final day! In the Yellow flight, Flight 1, Mary Figgis was the winner, followed by Leslie Smith and Glo Malmberg. The second flight was won by Joan Hammond, followed by Lorraine Blair and Terry Jung. Nancy Cohn won the third flight, followed by B.J. Schuller and Judy Kirschenbaum. The Silver flight winner was Barbara Anderson, followed by Debbie Horner and Phyllis D’Amore. Karen Beltz won the Silver second flight, followed by Liz Pritchard and Cindy Paskey.

Feb. 14 POD was Evens. Flight 1 was won by Mary Figgis, second place was Lynda Jones, Mary Dyrseth and Judy Darnell tied for third, and Leslie Smith and Lynn Story tied for fifth. In Flight 2 Dang Teater was the winner, Glo Malmberg and Terry Jung were second, tied for fourth were Joan Hammond and Sally Berreth, and Julie Hastings was sixth. Linda Thrash won first place in Flight 3, Phyllis D’Amore and Judy Kirschenbaum tied for second, and there was a five-way tie for fourth of Barbara Anderson, Nancy Cohn, B.J. Schuller, Linda Smith, and Robin Thomas. The fourth flight was won by Joann Rebillard, second place was Karen Beltz, third was Connie Hughes, tied for fourth were Susan La Salvia and Liz Pritchard, and Doris Swanson and Susan Merrill tied for sixth.

POD for Feb. 21 was First 4 and Last 5. Dang Teater and Mary Figgis tied for first place in the first flight, Peggy Cooper was third, and there was a three-way tie for fourth place of Sandy Brandt, Lynn Story, and Carolyn Marchuk. In Flight 2 Barbara Anderson and Phyllis D’Amore tied for first, Debbie Horner was third, and Linda Thrash was fourth.

The third flight was won by Frankie Hatch, B.J. Schuller and Liz Pritchard tied for second, and Karen Beltz was fourth.

Our surprise POD on Feb. 28 was Low Putts. In Flight 1 Cindy Reinertsen won, followed by Mary Dyrseth, Lynda Jones, and Lynn Story. In the second flight, Roselyn Hoiby was first, followed by Dang Teater, Sue Pederson, and Julie Hastings. Dolly Eide and Terry Jung tied for first in the third flight, and Sharon Skoworn was third. Sharon Ironside won the fourth flight, followed by Nancy Cohn, Judy Kirschenbaum, and Colleen Ritter. The fifth flight was won by Karen Beltz, Marty Light and Doris Swanson tied for second, and there was a three-way tie for fourth of Karen Stock, Debra Dubie, and Frankie Hatch.

March 7 was a Blind Partners Combined Low Net. Dang Teater/Robin Thomas were the winners in the first flight. The following teams also won: Joan Adams/Joann Rebillard, Sharon Ironside/Barbara Anderson, Mary Perry/Ladonna Wheat, Lorraine Blair/Beth Ebmeier, Mary Figgis/Mary Donlea, Leslie Smith/Shirley Weaver, Kelley Wojack/Barbara Dinardo. The second flight was won by Julie Hastings/Kathy Burns, followed by Debbie Horner/Norma Tucker, Julie Clausen/Fran Morin, Sharon Skoworn/Connie Hughes.