PVMGA Golf Results for January 2020

Jim Roberts, Publicity

January kicked off the new year with a full slate of golf activities for the PV Men’s Golf group.

On Jan. 4th, the annual member-member tournament was played. This is a flighted, net best ball competition. In Flight 1, the winners were Bob Brabant and Bill Cheney. In second place were John Kane and Mike Pasternak. Tied for third place were the teams of Mike Dalsander and Steve Rasmussen along with Ron Kiel and Larry Anderson.

In Flight 2, Gregg Lorimer and Richard Hawkes finished in first place. Myron Irwin and Vic Lesch were in second place, and Ron Cox and Leonard Lutostanski finished in third place.

In Flight 3, first place went to Denny Grandahl and Bill Smith. There was a tie for second place between Phil Hollevoet and Robert Butt with Bill Triquart and Charlie Sivertson. There was also a fourth-place tie between Gary Zahnow and Marty Neilson with Glen Harry and Duncan Allen.

Congratulations to all the winners.

On Jan. 9 and 11, PV played in a Home and Home with Sun Lakes Country Club. The team of Tom Craddock, Ed Norris, Don Peterson, and Gerald Haak finished in first place. They were followed by a tie between two teams comprised of Steve Oester, CW Rollins, Bill McKenna, and Gary Zahnow with Steve Nelson, Paul Hester, Don Holowinski, and Jim Berreth. In fourth place was the team of Lyle Becker, Ron Cox, Dave Sullivan, and Norm Parisien.

On Jan 18, 4-man teams played in a 1 gross/1 net contest. First place was won by the team of Terry Denefe, Al Baumgartner, Mike Mlynarczyk, and Bill Davis. Second place was a two-team tie between John Kane, Mike Pasternak, Fred Townsend, and Bill Smith with Tom Gartner, Lee Brechtel, Jim Parslow, and Marty Martin. Fourth place went to the team of Ron Kiel, Paul Jorgensen, Gary Assenmacher, and Richard Koon.

On Jan. 25 and 26, the President’s Cup tournament was played. The Club Champion was Steve Ryland with a score of 113. The runner-up was Terry Thomas at 115. For Flight 1, the winner was Gary Whiting followed by a tie for second place between John Kane and Dan Ashley. CW Rollins finished in fourth place. Flight 2 was won by Steve Ryland followed by Terry Thomas with Paul Jorgensen in third place. Flight 3 had Gerald Brock in first place, Phil Hollevoet and Bud Murray tied for second place, and Joe Lombardo in fourth place. Flight 4 was won by Bob Kruse with Al Mattern in second place. John Kuchera and Jim Davis tied for third place.

February looks to be another golf-filled month with activities including a Home & Home with SunBird, a Sweetheart tournament for Valentine’s, and the first round of the Club Championship—a lot of fun activities and good camaraderie. If you’re interested in joining our association, inquire at our Pro Shop or call 480-895-0300 for information.