A-1 Golf Goes from Last to Champs

The Lakes Division Winter Tourney Champs: Front, kneeling (left to right): Frank Tanner, Jeff Jay, and Terry Zeltinger; standing (left to right): Tim Loeffler, Wayne Newman, Jerry Smith, Chris Jensen, Dave Boone, Gary Alexander, Billy Maxwell, Mgr. Joe Commisto, and Tom Vitolo

Larry Wolfe

After finishing the regular Winter Season with an 8-10 record, good for last place in the Lakes Division, hopes were not high entering the Winter Tournament for Manager Joe Commisto’s A-1 Golf Cart-sponsored team. However, they surprised the number one-seeded Skyview Digital Media crew in the opening game with an 18-12 victory. Wayne Newman led the Golfers with four hits. He was supported by four teammates who stroked three hits each. Ken Brenden and Steve Schaider had four hits each for the Drones.

In game two, the Young Home Team Realtors beat Core Photography 21-14, with Ken Brenden leading the way, reaching base five times. Jeff Jay and Jerry Smith had four safeties each for the Photographers.

In the third game, the A-1 Golfers continued rolling with a fairly easy 24-14 victory over the Young Home Team. Jeff Jay and Tim Loeffler led the Golfers attack with five hits each, while Frank Tanner, Jerry Smith, and Terry Zeltinger added four each.

Manager Vern Rodgers led his Core lensmen to a 13-9 win over number one-ranked Skyview Digital Media in game four, eliminating the Drones from the competition. Rodgers smacked four safeties, including three doubles.

In game five, the Young Home Team Realtors eliminated Core Photography with a 14-9 win. Mike Willits and Terry Zeltinger had three hits each for the winners, while Dave Boone smacked four safeties for the losing squad. Brian Brockman had three hits, including a long homer, and Duke Garoutte added three hits of his own.

In the championship contest, the A-1 Golfers jumped out to an early 9-2 lead and coasted to a 23-11 victory. It was the culmination of their magic run from last to champs. The Golfers banged out a total of 31 hits, with Jerry Smith and Frank Tanner leading the way with five each. Congratulations to Manager Commisto and his squad for a stunning tourney win!

Tim Loeffler led all hitters in the tourney with a .929 on base percentage. Others at .800 and over were Ken Brenden (.864), Frank Tanner .857), Gary Alexander .833, Vern Rodgers (.818), and Larry Maggard (.800).