AAUW scholarship to honor Joyce M. Pocras

Barbara Stewart

The 2017 AAUW Scholarship will be in memory of Joyce M. Pocras, who passed away in October of 2016. Joyce, of Lincoln, Nebraska, and Sun Lakes, was a retired attorney and a graduate of University of Nebraska. She was a long-time, active member of American Association of University Women, Southeast Valley Branch, in Sun Lakes.

Since 2010, AAUW has awarded a local scholarship to a senior girl attending Chandler Unified School District Schools. Additional criteria includes a minimum 2.5 GPA, participation in extra-curricular activities, attendance at an in-state community college or university, community service, leadership qualities and financial need.

On Saturday, April 1, at Cottonwood Country Club Saguaro Room, a Local Scholarship Fundraiser luncheon will be held. Attending will be Jan Hewitt from Chandler Education Foundation, and presenting a fashion show will be “What Women Want Swimwear” from Tempe. Everyone is welcome to attend. For reservations or more information, please contact Gail Jones at 480-802-7274 or Ruth Rees at 480-895-3665, Scholarship Co-Chair.

Since 1881, The American Association of University Women (AAUW) advances equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy and research. AAUW has a nationwide network of more than 100,000 members and donors, 1,000 branches and 600 college/university institutional partners. AAUW is one of the world’s largest sources of funding for graduate women. The AAUW invites all who hold an associate or higher degree from an accredited college or university to join. For further information on this program or membership, go to http://southeastvalley-az.aauw.net.