Agave Quilters elect new officers – make plans for September

Pictured (left to right) Melodie Fogelsanger, Anne Munoz, Shar Schmutz, Pat Boles, Pat Meger and Nancy Miller.

The Agave Quilt Guild wishes to thank the entire Sun Lakes community and all attendees for their generous support of the 2016 Agave Quilt Show. Thank you to Quilt Show Chair Nancy Steele and everyone who participated in the show in any way: by displaying their quilt, white gloving at the show, working at the boutique, demonstrating a skill, selling raffle tickets, or many other small, but needed jobs. This show was our most successful ever, and profits will fund our community service projects for 2016-2017 and continuing education for the members. Next fall, we will continue sewing children’s quilts for several small hospitals that receive no quilts from other guilds. The 262 quilts already delivered to two small Arizona children’s hospitals were most appreciated by both children and staff. Congratulations and thank you to everyone who completed a quilt this year, and a special thank you to Community Service Co-Chairs Sherri Tanner and Jean Larson, who tirelessly organized kit cutting and assembly days and personally encouraged all Agave members to make a quilt! Donations from the community of fabric, batting and money for community service are accepted at any time.

Cindy Banna heads the program for the final Agave Quilt Guild meeting of the year on Wednesday, May 4 at noon in the Navajo Room of the Sun Lakes Country Club. Cindy is both an art quilter and a traditional/contemporary quilter and lectures and teaches throughout the state. Cindy will host a trunk show of her quilts that is sure to be very informative and exciting as she shares her expertise in many areas. Do not miss this meeting! Remember too, that Agave now charges a $5 non-member guest fee to hear a lecture. Please wear your names tags at all meetings, as this identifies you as a paid member and eligible for the gift certificates given out at each meeting. At the May meeting, Agave will say goodbye to 2015-2016 President Faith Bragg and acting President Pat Meger. Both ladies have volunteered many hours with Agave and we are blessed through their untiring service. Melodie Fogelsanger, assisted by Patty Burris, has done a wonderful job as treasurer, and has plans to continue on in her position another year. Nancy Miller, Agave secretary, has also completed two years as secretary with Agave’s heartfelt gratitude. Next year’s new officers include Anne Munoz as president, Shar Schmutz as vice president and Pat Boles as secretary. Have a wonderful summer and see you all on the first Wednesday of September.