December 2019 PVGMA Results

Jim Roberts, Publicity

December was quite a month of golf. In spite of the many distractions of the holidays, along with cold temperatures and rain, good fun on the golf course was in abundance. Playing golf at the morning shotguns in December is quite different than in March, April, and May. Folks were known to be teeing off with five or six layers of clothing. But there were also the diehards who wore shorts throughout the month.

On Dec. 7 a Select-A-Drive, 2 Best Ball Net event was played. First place went to the team of Rick Smith, Pete Gorman, Al Baumgartner, and Hal Newton. There was a three-way tie for second place and a three-way tie for fifth. So, lots of golfers got in on the action.

On Dec. 14, a 2-man Scramble was contested. In Flight 1, first place went to Bruce Medhurst and Danny Jetton. Second place went to Rick Nelson and Larry Anderson. Third place went to Dan Ashley and Paul Hester in a tie with Gary Heimgartner and Cliff Joyes.

In Flight 2, First place went to Vaughn Torgusen and Gary Zahnow, second went to Dan Parrish and Al Mattern, while third went to Len Rosati and Jim Davis.

On Dec. 21 the annual Ace of Aces Tournament was held. In the First Flight, the Gross Score winner was Terry Denefe, followed by Mike Lorimer and a tie for third between Pat Conroy and CW Rollins. The Net Score winner was Jerry Davis, followed by Dan Ashley and a tie for third between Jim Snyder and Stan Fark.

In the Second Flight, Low Gross score was won by Mylan Racine, followed by Gary Whiting and a tie for third between John Kane and Rick Nelson. The Net Score winner was Stan Gross, with Jim Wedeward in second and Bob Riefe in third.

The Third Flight Low Gross winner was Cliff Joyes, followed by Terry Thomas and Mike Ruffert. The Net Low Score winner was James Granzow, with Mike Pasternak in second place, and a five-way tie for third place.

The Fourth Flight Low Gross winner was Gerald Brock, followed by Myron Irwin and Jack Hall. The Low Net winner was Bob Volk, with Phil Hollevoet in second and Rick Onken in third.

The Fifth Flight Low Gross winner was Terry Cronin, followed by Gary Zahnow and Marty Martin. The Net Low Score winner was Arny Pinsley, followed by Charlie Sivertsen and Richard Hair.

On Dec. 28 a 2 Best Ball Net game was played. First place went to the team of Mike Lorimer, Myron Irwin, Dan Parrish, and Fred Townsend. There was a two-way tie for second place between the teams of Paul Jorgensen, Gary Wenger, Gary Zahnow, and Joe Lombardi with John Kane, Ron Cox, and Gary Assenmacher.

So, lots of golf was played, and fun was had by all with the promise of many great events coming up in the future. Happy New Year to all.