IMGA News and Events

Mike Willinger

Now that we can view summer in the rearview mirror, IMGA is off and running with activities for the balance of 2022, starting with an annual competition with MOGA.

The Ryder Cup between IMGA and MOGA is scheduled for Nov. 29 at Ironwood and Dec. 1 at Oakwood. Ironwood will coordinate the event.

IMGA will be holding elections for the board of directors in the fourth quarter. We’re seeking candidates for all four executive board positions: president, vice president, secretary, and treasurer. The current VP, Rich Popham, will be running for president, and Ross Serold will be running for re-election as secretary. If you’re an IMGA member, please give serious thought to joining either the executive board or as a committee chair—a great opportunity to help shape IMGA’s future.

Special thanks: The IMGA Board is offering a special thanks to Dan Jonker who has announced he will not seek re-election as treasurer, a position Dan has graciously held for 10 years—that’s remarkable dedication to our association. Thank you, Dan!

Overseed at Ironwood is nearing completion. It’s scheduled to be done by Oct. 9. IMGA play will resume on Oct. 11 with cart-path-only golf until Oct. 31.

IMGA Website Chairmen Wayne Karp has been updating the website to a “new look.” Please take a few minutes to see what Wayne has done.

The IMGA membership for 2023 opened at the beginning of October. Look for an E-blast from Dick Winkelman with the details early this month. There’s a good chance we’ll see an increase over the current membership of 249 playing members.

September Winners Circle (as of Sept. 14):

Sept. 6, Team Stableford (4-man team)

First place (AM): John Skoworn, Joe Ferrazza, Thomas Reale, Michael Kozak

First place (PM): Patrick Rather, Joseph De Napoli, Paul Beeks

Of special note: In the heat, the only other PM team should receive Honorable Mention: Dan Muth, Gary Furlong, Ross Serold

Sept. 13, Low Net (individual)

Flight first-place winners (AM): Keith Landry, Robert Barnett, Larry Gagnon, William Knack, Charles Goodwin

First place (PM): Dave Hoogenboom