Men’s IronOaks Nine Holers Fundraiser and Luncheon

Left to right: Bob Pender, Bruce Henderson, Lloyd Schaeffer, Frank Pender, John Gaudioso, Bill Pender (photo courtesy of Bob Pender)

Special Events Chair John Gaudioso

Jim Wegman, Publicity

The Men’s IronOaks Nine Hole Golf Association held their annual Awards Luncheon and Fundraiser at the Oakwood clubhouse on Feb. 23. President Lloyd Schaeffer called the meeting to order at 11:10 a.m. Special guest speaker was IronOaks teaching pro Kevin Marugame.

The luncheon was notable for a number of reasons; the attendance of over 80 members and guests, the great PowerPoint presentation created by Bob Pender, and the fundraiser raffle presided over by John Gaudioso. The lunch was a winner, so a big thank you to Jessica Dargle and her staff.

President Lloyd Schaeffer recognized the work of board members and committeemen who assisted with the program and the raffle. The point man on the raffle project was Special Events Chair John Gaudioso. John spent countless hours visiting restaurants and other business establishments and delivered a long list of valuable gifts. Without John’s energy and dedication, the raffle would not have been so successful. Special gifts were also contributed by the Pender brothers (Bill, Bob, and Frank) and Jim Campbell. Lloyd thanked the game managers who set up our Thursday pairings: Bill Pender, Bob Deken, and Len Dolins.

The Men’s Niners believe that the sport of golf with its rules and traditions is a great adjunct to any academic program and have supported Hamilton High’s Boys Golf program for many years. This year the funds realized from the raffle ($1,100) will be donated to the Girls Golf program at Hamilton High. The Hamilton High Boys Golf team visited Oakwood on March 24 for a game with the Niners and a fundraiser managed by David Mork. The Hamilton High golf teams received the Niners’ donations that day.

The raffle was a success thanks to these local merchants and supporters:


Jeremiah’s Italian Ices

Stone & Barrel, John Reyhons and Gunner Eddington

IronOaks Golf Operations, Eddy Renio and Kevin Marugame



Cooper’s Hawk Wineries

DC Steakhouse

Brooklyn V’s Pizza

VA Bene

Hamilton High Golf Coach Kanner

Jim Campbell Young Home Team

Please visit these fine sponsors, and when you do, be sure to thank them for their help with the raffle.

The Awards Luncheon is an annual event held to recognize the accomplishments of the players in various tournaments and categories. So, let’s start with the Club Championship.

Club Champions for 2022: Flight A: Lloyd Schaeffer and Tom Reale, Flight B: Jordy Primack and Jim Campbell, Flight C: Renny Vowell, and Flight D: Ray Greenbush

The Slattery Invitational Winners: Flight A: Bill Pender, Flight B: Mike Osborn and Jordy Primack, Flight C: Len Dolins, Flight D: Jim Johnson

President’s Award: Bill Pender

The John Palace Award: Bruce Vantine

The Harold Kushnak Most-Improved Golfer Award: Bill Flinn

The Sharpshooters Award: (three-way tie) Bill Pender, Bob Pender, Lloyd Schaeffer