MOGA Playday results

Howie Weiss (right) congratulates TJ Jones for accepting the Presidency of MOGA.

Howie Weiss (right) congratulates TJ Jones for accepting the Presidency of MOGA.

Bob Greene, Publicity

February 2015; a bit belated, however, MOGA would like to wish all our members, and their families a Happy New Year that is full of blessings and to acknowledge our officers, committee chairmen and the Pro Shop personnel that have worked so hard to make our Men’s Golf Association a success.

A sincere appreciation is extended to Howie Weiss, who is stepping down from the president’s position and to Myron Urban who is relinquishing the secretary’s position that he has held for the past two years.

Howie has served in various positions for the past eight years and as the president for the past four. Asked if he had any words to say, in leaving office, his response was, “MOGA is a great organization and a great place to meet your neighbors and other men that share the same goal and that is to play golf and have fun”. We also want to welcome “TJ” Jones as the new president, having been our vice president for the past two years. We would be remiss to not acknowledge our treasurer, Jim Hooyman, who has been treasurer for the past four years and will continue in that position to keep the financial reports in excellent condition.

In addition to the four officers there are committee positions that assist the officers. They are AGA representative/handicap/membership (Brian Keene), tournaments/webmaster (Aki Yasuda) and publicity (Bob Greene).

Few members realize the time and effort that these individuals devote to make our weekly and special tournaments a success. To put the pairings together each week, tabulate the scores and then award the winners takes time and effort. The annual membership meeting will be held on March 10 and there will be an election of officers at the meeting. Please consider accepting a position on the board, or assisting with a committee in order to lighten the load.

The Home and Home Tournament between Sun Lakes Country Club and Oakwood was played on December 11 and 18. There were 84 players involved. The winning team was Doug Braun, Mark Conley, Jerome Schultz; Closest-to-the Pin was Tom Bezrutczyk, Doug Braun, Ed Mukhar and Greg Carter. There were two teams tied for second, three teams for seventh and four teams for tenth. All the results can be found on the web site at www. mogagolf. com.

The President’s Cup is scheduled for February 5, 7 and 12 (no fee). The Club Championship is March 5, 7 and 12 ($10.00 fee).

Based upon input from members, the board has voted to permit players to select a tee (blue or white) for most tournaments starting January 15. Notify Aki Yasuda if you want to play from the blue tees. If you do not respond otherwise, the default will be the white tees. After you select a tee, you will have only one opportunity to change during the 2015 season. Future registration forms will have a place to select your preference.

Please check web site for all events, results and course rules.