Redeemed Team and Core Photography Are Spring Champs

Scorekeeper Cyndy Hilby and scoreboard operator Frank Tanner are two of the many volunteers who contribute to the success of our softball program. (Photo courtesy of Picture Perfect Photos)

Larry Wolfe

In two tight pennant races, the Redeemed Team and the Core Photography-sponsored team won their respective divisions. Manager Larry Kaufmann’s Redeemed Team edged out Manager Tom Bersano’s Leckner Realty squad by one game in the Sun Division, finishing with a 10-6 record versus the Realtors’ 9-7 mark. In the Lakes Division, the race was even tighter with Manager Gary Hillabolt’s Photographers finishing a half game better than Manager Joe Commisto’s A-1 Golf Carts team. The Photographers went 10-6, while the Golfers were 9-6 with one tie. Thanks to these four managers and team sponsors and these others: Managers Ron Carmichael, Tom Erpelding, Bill McCoy, and Randy Nuemann and team sponsors Skyview Digital Media, Spooner Physical Therapy, Wolfe & Associates, and the Young Realty Team.

Marty Hobby led the Sun Division in hitting with an .823 average. The remainder of the top 10 were Dan Melosi (.810), Tom Bersano (.805), Mike Lebet (.777), Larry Kaufmann (.746), Bob Wicks (.736), Jon Hendrikse (.733), Greg Lemmon (.723), Bob Reed (.722), and Dave Platt (.719). Bob Wicks led the division in homers with 44. Others with 30-plus long balls were Tom Bersano (40), Mike Lebet and Marty Hobby (both with 39), Greg Lemmon (36), and Dan Melosi (32).

In the Lakes Division, Tom Lorgan was the batting champ for the third consecutive year with a mark of .766. Others in the top 10 were Tim Loeffler (.746), Dennis LePore (.728), Vern Rodgers (.724), Brian Brockman (.721), Sam Giordano (.718), Manny Verdusco (.716), Mike Willits (.701), Gene Granquist (.685), and Bill McCoy (.679). Brian Brockman ran away with the homerun title, slugging 29 big flies. Tim Loeffler and Vern Rodgers both had 10 round-trippers each.

We’ll cover more stats in a future edition of the Splash. In addition, the year-end tournament results will appear in next month’s edition.

For the first time since the advent of COVID, we held a social event for members, spouses, and significant others. Annual awards were presented at the function, including the following (Lakes Division winners listed first): Rookies-of-the-Year Brian Brockman and Greg Lemmon; Most Improved Players Manny Verdusco and Kurt Carmichael; and Sportsmen of the Year Bill Maxwell and Marty Hobby. Winners of the prestigious Spirit of Sun Lakes Softball Award were Jim Entwistle and Bill Jacobson. Established in 2010, this award is given to the member or members who go “above and beyond” in supporting our program. Winners are selected based upon their outstanding dedication, initiative, and service to our organization. Congratulations to Jim and Bill and all the other award winners and league leaders.

We congratulate newly elected board member John Whitman and reelected board member Doug Warwick. They join holdovers Tom Erpelding, Cyndy Hilby, Jim Leckner, Bill McCoy, and Larry Wolfe. Thanks to Bill Corso who completed two consecutive three-year terms on our board.

For up-to-date news, go to our website