Softball banquet recap

2019 Spirit Award winners Gary Hillabolt (left) and Larry Wolfe (right) receive their awards from President Sam Giordano.

The annual Sun Lakes Senior Softball Association banquet was recently held in the Oakwood Ballroom. Nearly 140 members, guests and sponsors were in attendance.

After a very happy “Happy Hour,” dinner was served. Many of the attendees praised the entrees as being the best banquet food ever served in Sun Lakes. Many thanks to Ashley Mills, catering and banquets director; Joleen Johnson and the entire IronOaks banquet staff for a job well done.

After dinner, President Sam Giordano gave a brief “State of the Association” address and introduced current officers and directors and other significant contributors to the success of our Association and our league. He thanked our “field maintenance team,” Ken Brenden and Dave Rinaldo, for their many hours spent getting our field ready for play, usually five times per week. He also thanked our team sponsors and advertising sponsors as well as Banquet Coordinator Pat Wolfe.

Since 2010, one or more Association members have been named winners of the annual Spirit of Sun Lakes Softball Award each year. The award is presented to those who go “above and beyond” in support of our Association. This year’s winners were Gary Hillabolt and Larry Wolfe.

Following the formal program, Mike Core and Doug Freisen entertained the crowd with a humorous slideshow presentation showing the many faults and foibles of playing senior softball. They were followed by entertainer T. A. Burrows, who performed “Rockin’ the Classics.” A great time was had by all.