CLGA members resume busy fall schedule

Judy Onken

We’re back! Bill Todd and his crew have our courses overseeded and in beautiful condition for our golfing pleasure once again. Those of us who are wimps and can’t stand up to the summer heat are thrilled to be back in the friendly confines of the Sun Lakes community.

Our November luncheon was well attended as we celebrated a number of club member achievements. The crowning event was the Happy Birthday song and cake for Betty Chukas who has reached the magic age where she receives lifetime AWGA dues paid by the club. State Medallion winners were announced as Billie Seiberling, low net, and Lori O’Neil and Marylana Breit who tied for low gross. A “card-off” determined Lori the winner. They will represent the club at the Medallion event to be held at PebbleCreek in January of this year. Those club members who have played in outside events sponsored by Central Arizona Golf District and Arizona Women’s Golf Association were recognized. Our club is always well represented.

Candidates for 2016 officers were slated. They are: Marky Wilson, president; Virginia Diers, vice-president; Patty Assante, secretary; and Mary Lu Esget, treasurer.

Gloria Combs, membership chairman, welcomed new members. They are Penny Nowicki, Katherine Campbell, Susan Joslyn and Trudy Houghton.

Winners of the day’s game were Maretta Emery, Judy Onken, Jan Martin and Cathy Lastofka. Second place went to Mary Henson, Sandy Johnson, Marky Wilson and Liz Kirkpatrick.