If you are new to the community or would like to spend some time on the golf course, why not join the Men’s Oakwood Golf Association(MOGA)? Our Thursday games are a good way to meet some new friends. You don’t have to be a resident of IronOaks to join our group. We have over 380 active and handicap-only members, with golfers at every level. MOGA has an event each Thursday throughout the year. Join MOGA and meet some new friends while playing a variety of team and individual games each week.

Upcoming Schedule for June MOGA Games:

June 2: ABCD Shamble 7:30 a.m.; Individual Low Net 10 a.m.

June 9: AABB Scramble/CCDD Scramble 7:30 a.m.; Individual Low Net 10 a.m.

June 16: ABCD Rainbow 7:30 a.m.; Individual Stableford 10 a.m.

June 23: ABCD Best Ball by Flight (3 best nets) 7:30 a.m.; Individual Low Net 10 a.m.

June 30: ABCD Cha, Cha, Cha 7:30 a.m.; Individual Low Net 10 a.m.

The skins games going forward will be from the blue tees for single-digit handicaps. Higher handicaps can continue to play from the white tees.

Game descriptions are on the MOGA website, and results of each week’s event are posted on the website. Payouts to weekly participants have averaged 50%, so come out and win some pro shop chits.

Membership: Re-enrollment for 2022 MOGA membership is now underway. Join or enroll online, and you can use a credit card and save some money.

Go to

Click on “Join/Renew” (top right of screen)

Scroll down and click on “Join a Club Now”

Search for Oakwood GC MOGA (under filters)

Click on “Click here to join or renew online”

There is also a link on the website page.

Getting to Know … MOGA – Wayne Karp

Wayne Karp and his wife Janet have three children: Bryan, Stephanie, and Andrew. They have two grandchildren (Dylan and Zachary). They moved to Arizona from Illinois in 2002, and Wayne has been a member of MOGA for 18 years. Wayne was a pharmacist and ran a buying group of independent pharmacies in the Midwest. He later worked as a consultant to major pharmacy benefit management companies. Wayne is on the boards of both MOGA and IMGA and manages the IMGA website.

Member/Guest Winners:

Flight 1: Garry Loncon and Matt Franklin

Flight 2: Ron Marshall and Nick Roeschley

Flight 3: Tom Dilorenzo and Steve Ching

Flight 4: Richard Schmidt and Jeffrey Martin

Don’t forget: If you have information to share or you want to add something to the Splash, send a message to [email protected], and it will be added to the next newsletter!

The MOGA Board is looking for a new secretary and a new publicity person. Please let a board member know if you are interested.

MOGA Board for 2022:

President: Dan Strafalace, Vice President: Ron Dodd, Treasurer: Ken Gaylord, Secretary: Vic Russelavage

Standing Committee Chairs:

Membership: Wayne Karp, Handicap & AGA: Stephen Newkirk, Tournament: Dan Muth/Mark Nilsen, Tournament Assistant: Doug Stodgel, Prize Committee: Steve Engler, Publicity: Steve Engler, Webmaster: Fred Smith